The Scheme is structured for planning and implementation through the following institutional structures:

National Level City Level NAC HNEC CLAMC NTC NMD CMD HCA

National Level

1. National Advisory Committee (NAC): The National Advisory Committee is the apex advisory body for the HRIDAY Scheme and comprises of the following members:-

  • Secretary, Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs
  • Shri. Bimal Patel, Director, CEPT University, Ahmedabad
  • Smt. Swati Ramanathan , Co-founder of Janaagraha
  • Shri. Kishan Rao, Chairman, Telangana Tourism Development Corporation
  • Shri. K.T.Ravindran, Professor & Head of Urban Design, SPA, Delhi

The Mission Director is the convener of the Committee.
The NAC assists in creating the implementation and governance framework under which heritage development shall take place along with advice and guidance on all components of the Scheme.

2. HRIDAY National Empowered Committee: A committee co-chaired by Secretary, MoHUA and Chief Secretary of respective state, consisting of following members:

  • Secretary, Housing and Poverty Alleviation
  • Secretary, Ministry of Tourism
  • Secretary, Ministry of Culture
  • Secretary ,Water Resources, River Development and Ganga Rejuvenation
  • Joint Secretary, Finance, MoHUA
  • Joint Secretary, Smart Cities, MoHUA
  • Joint Secretary, Mission, MoHUA
  • Director General, Archaeological Survey of India
  • Director, NIUA
  • Chief Planner, Town and Country Planning
  • Representatives of the Planning Commission
  • Principal Secretaries of respective States
  • Representatives of the respective ULBs
  • Mission Director

* Representation of stakeholders like UNESCO, World Bank, INTACH or other bilateral and multilateral agencies and experts for heritage and urban planning sector would be invited with approval of Chair.

HNEC provides overall sanction, approval, guidance and advice to the Scheme. Following are its broad roles and responsibilities:

  • Approve all operations and fund release, review and monitor the overall performance of the scheme.
  • Approve establishment of City level Committees and agencies such as CLAMC, HRIDAY City Anchors and City Mission Directorate
  • Ensure that there is no duplication in the sanctioning of project/ works/activities/ under HRIDAY and those eligible/sanctioned under other schemes of GOI
  • Recommend mid-course correction in the implementation tools as & when required.


3. National Mission Directorate: The National Mission Directorate is headed by the Mission Director and supported by the National Institute of Urban Affairs which is the designated National Project Management Unit for the Scheme. The NPMU constitutes the following persons:

  • Urban Planning Specialist
  • Municipal Engineer
  • Financial Specialist

The Mission Directorate is broadly responsible for the following activities:

  • Preparation of HRIDAY Guidelines, model RFPs and Toolkits for implementing various components
  • Overall Program Monitoring, Governance and Fund Management of HRIDAY Scheme
  • Facilitate selection of HRIDAY City Anchors and setting up of City Mission Directorates
  • Empanelment of Agencies for DPR preparation, Execution and Third Party Monitoring & Evaluation
  • Knowledge Transfer on Innovative Ideas and Best Practices across Cities
  • Capacity Building of HRIDAY stakeholders


4. National Technical Committee: The National Technical Committee is convened by the Director, NIUA and consists of the following members:

  • Mission Director (HRIDAY)
  • Representatives from Archeological Survey of India (ASI)
  • Representative from Ministry of Culture
  • Representative from Ministry of Tourism
  • Representative from INTACH
  • Representative from CPWD
  • Any other Representatives as deemed fit by the Convener

The main purpose of the Technical Committee is to technically review and evaluate implementation frameworks, Detailed Project Reports, City HRIDAY Plans and other such agendas, before it is put forth at the HNEC Meeting.

  • Support in developing HRIDAY Guidelines, RFPs and Toolkits
  • Support in selection of agencies or institutions as HRIDAY City Anchors
  • Support in preparation of City HRIDAY Plan Toolkit and the Final City HP
  • Support in evaluating the DPRs and its implication


City Level

1. City Level Advisory and Monitoring Committee (CLAMC): The CLAMC comprises of the following members:

  • District Magistrate (as the Convener)
  • Municipal Commissioner (as the Co-Convener)
  • Mayor
  • MPs, MLAs
  • District Town Planner
  • District Tourism Officer
  • Representative from Electricity Supply Department
  • 2 local representatives nominated by the Chief Secretary of State

Following are the roles and responsibilities of the CLAMC:

  • Approval of City HRIDAY Plan
  • Review of DPRs before forwarding it to the National Mission Directorate
  • Monitoring and review of timely progress of the Project


2. City Mission Directorate: A City Mission Directorate is the nodal agency for implementation of the Scheme at the City level. The responsibility of the City Mission Directorate is as follows:

  • Selection of agencies for DPR, Execution and M&E from the empanelled lists
  • Evaluation of City HRIDAY Plans, DPRs and Execution Works
  • Vetting of M&E Certificates and release of payments to Executing Agencies
  • Overall Coordination, Execution and Monitoring of HRIDAY Scheme at City level


3. HRIDAY City Anchors: For each of the 12 Cities, agencies with significant expertise in the field of heritage have been selected to act as the HRIDAY City Anchor. The primary objective of HRIDAY City Anchors is to handhold the Cities in successful implementation of the Scheme.

The HRIDAY City Anchors have the following responsibilities:

  • Provide technical advisory and guidance to the City Mission Directorate
  • Prepare the City HRIDAY Plans along with prioritization of Projects
  • Provide quality control for all selected projects starting from preparation of Detailed
  • Project Reports to execution of works
  • Engage in Capacity Building of City officials